Microsoft have outlined the new versions of Windows Server 2012.

There will be 4:

The four SKUs are

  • Foundation (available to OEMs only)
  • Essentials
  • Standard
  • Datacenter

Microsoft have an  SKU/licensing chart for the four editions of Windows Server 2012:

The number of SKU’s has been greatly reduced from around 12 to 4 in an effort to simplify things.

Here’s a Microsoft FAQ about the new SKU/licensing line-up.


About the Author

Onuora Amobi is the Founder and VP of Digital Marketing at Learn About The Web Inc. Onuora has more than a decade of information security, project management and management consulting experience. He has specialized in the management and deployment of large scale ERP client/server systems.

In addition to being a former Microsoft MVP and the founder and editor of, he is the CEO of a Pasadena based online marketing education startup - Learn About The Web Inc. ( and The Redmond Cloud (

Related Posts

Microsoft has just launched a new video series called Microsoft Unboxed, with the goal of...

Sweet penny! As we, hopefully, all know by now, Microsoft will be ending support for Windows 7...

Windows Update, of all things! Microsoft has confirmed that it has fixed the Windows Update bug...

  1. Just so i’m clear here… my WHS 2011 that I picked up for $50 is being replaced by a product that is going to cost me $425??! Ya, that’s one update I won’t be making, ever.

  2. Willian,
    Sounds like your cheap and don’t understand value.

Leave a Reply